Most Runs in ICC World Cup 2024 By Player

Which player scored the most runs in the World Cup T20 and the ICC World Cup? Actually, you might be surprised by a few of the names.

Cricket’s greatest competition, the ICC World Cup, is held every four years and attracts players from many nations to compete for the trophy.   

The defending champions England were surprisingly removed early in 2023, which opened the door for competitors like Australia and India. In the end, Australia gained a victory, winning their sixth championship in a match versus India.   

The tournament started from October 5 to November 19, with matches held only in India. India was given the exclusive distinction of hosting the event.   

The teams competed using a one-day international format, with 50 overs per inning. Because of the big stakes, batters played it safe and frequently scored big runs, even reaching double hundreds.   

Even with the intensity of the event, just a handful of batters routinely produce outstanding performances, scoring the most runs. However, the top 10 most runs in the ICC World Cup are given below.   

Top 10 Most Run in ICC World Cup  

The following table provides a comprehensive breakdown of the most run in the ICC World Cup all time:  

Rank Player Matches Innings Runs 
1 Virat Kohli (IND) 11 11 765 
2 Rohit Sharma (IND) 11 11 597 
2 Quinton de Kock (SA) 10 10 594 
3 Rachin Ravindra (NZ) 10 10 578 
4 Daryl Mitchell (NZ) 10 9 552 
6 David Warner (AUS) 11 11 535 
7 Shreyas Iyer (IND) 11 11 530 
8 Rassie van der Dussen (SA) 10 10 448 
9 Mitchell Marsh (AUS) 10 10 441 
10 Aiden Markram (SA) 10 10 406 

Most Run in World Cup T20 History  

A handful of players have dominated the ICC realm Cup T20 with their prolific run-scoring in the fast-paced realm of T20 cricket. These appealing batsmen have left a lasting impression on the history of the game with their powerful strokes and determination, captivating fans across the globe. Let us examine these run-scoring titans’ thrilling journey on the biggest platform in cricket. 

Year Player Team Matches Run HS SR 100 50 
2007 Matthew Hayden Australia 6 265 73* 144.8 0 4 
2009 Tillakaratne Dilshan Sri Lanka 7 317 96* 144.74 0 3 
2010 Mahela Jayawardene Sri Lanka 6 302 100 159.78 1 2 
2012 Shane Watson Australia 6 249 72 150 0 3 
2014 Virat Kohli India 6 319 77 129.14 0 4 
2016 Tamim Iqbal Bangladesh 6 295 103* 142.51 1 1 
2021 Babar Azam Pakistan 6 303 70 126.25 0 4 
2022 Virat Kohli India 6 296 82* 136.40 0 4 

You explored how players are topping the charts for the most runs in ICC World Cup history and have left their mark in the IPL, whereas their lowest score defended in IPL will give you an overview of something more interesting.  

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)  

Q.1 Who has scored the most runs in the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup?  

Indian player Sachin Tendulkar, with 2,278 runs, owns the record. 

Q.2 In the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup, which nation has produced the most elite scorers?  

With three players each, India and Sri Lanka have produced the greatest number of elite run scorers.  

Q.3 What is the average number of runs scored by the greatest run scorer in the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup every tournament?  

The World Cup top run scorer averages about 63 runs per tournament.  

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top