Home » T20 World Cup » Most Runs in ICC World Cup 2024 By Player

Most Runs in ICC World Cup 2024 By Player

nicholas puran

Which player scored the most runs in the World Cup T20 and the ICC World Cup? Actually, you might be surprised by a few of the names.

The ICC World Cup, cricket’s greatest competition, is held every four years and attracts players from the entire world to compete for the trophy.   

Nicholas Pooran of the West Indies continued to lead as the top run-scorer in the ongoing T20 World Cup after the Super Eight match between Australia and Bangladesh in Antigua on Friday.

Pooran is the only batter to have surpassed the 200-run mark in the tournament so far. He is closely followed by USA’s Andries Gous, who scored an unbeaten 80 off 47 balls against South Africa in the first game of the Super Eight stage.

Australia’s Travis Head moved up to third in the standings after his 31-run cameo in the victory over Bangladesh, while fellow opener David Warner jumped to fifth following his unbeaten half-century.

 Read About – T20 Betting in India

T20 World Cup 2024  Most Runs by Players

The following table provides a detailed breakdown of the T20 World Cup Most Runs:

1Nicholas Pooran (WI)520040.00
2Andries Gous (USA)418260.66
3Rahmanullah Gurbaz (AFG)517835.60
4Ibrahim Zadran (AFG)516032.00
5Marcus Stoinis (AUS)415678.00
6Travis Head (AUS)414849.33
7Phil Salt (ENG)514749.00
8Aaron Jones (USA)414170.50
9Brandon McMullen (SCO)414070.00
10Johnson Charles (WI)512525.00

Most Run in World Cup T20 History  

A handful of players have dominated the ICC T20 World Cup with their prolific run-scoring in the fast-paced realm of T20 cricket.

These appealing batsmen have left a lasting impression on the history of the game with their powerful strokes and determination, captivating fans across the globe.

Also, Check –Most Centuries in World Cup 2024

Let us examine these run-scoring titans’ thrilling journey on the biggest platform in cricket, achieving the record for T20 World Cup most runs.

Year Player Team Matches Run HS SR 100 50 
2007 Matthew Hayden Australia 6 265 73* 144.8 0 4 
2009 Tillakaratne Dilshan Sri Lanka 7 317 96* 144.74 0 3 
2010 Mahela Jayawardene Sri Lanka 6 302 100 159.78 1 2 
2012 Shane Watson Australia 6 249 72 150 0 3 
2014 Virat Kohli India 6 319 77 129.14 0 4 
2016 Tamim Iqbal Bangladesh 6 295 103* 142.51 1 1 
2021 Babar Azam Pakistan 6 303 70 126.25 0 4 
2022 Virat Kohli India 6 296 82* 136.40 0 4 

The statistics for most runs in ICC World Cup are based on available data and may be subject to updates. For accurate and real-time updates, always refer to official sources. For the latest cricket updates and betting odds, check the Indibet App.

Read About –Most Fifties in T20 World Cup 2024

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)  

Q.1 Who has scored the most runs in the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup?  

Indian player Sachin Tendulkar, with 2,278 runs, owns the record. 

Q.2 In the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup, which nation has produced the most elite scorers?  

With three players each, India and Sri Lanka have produced the greatest number of elite run scorers.  

Q.3 What is the average number of runs scored by the greatest run scorer in the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup every tournament?  

The World Cup top run scorer averages about 63 runs per tournament.  

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top