Home » IPL 2024 » Most Man of The Match in IPL

Most Man of The Match in IPL

Most Man of The Match in IPL 2024  

The 17th season of the Indian Premier League – IPL 2024 – began on Friday (March 22), with defending champions Chennai Super Kings defeating Southern rivals Royal Challengers Bengaluru by six wickets. And, as with any other cricket match or prior seasons of the IPL, there were multiple excellent performances in the game, with one player taking home the most Man of the Match in IPL one season title.  

In any sport, the officials give the Player of the Match award to a player who demonstrates a great performance or has the most influence during a game. But the question is, who has clinched the most man of the Match in IPL?   

The CSK newcomer Mustafizur Rahman earned the most Man of the Match award in 2024 for his 4 out of 29 sessions.  

Most Man of the Match in IPL History 2024-2008   

Below, in the table, we will see the most man of the match in IPL history. 


Player of the Series 





Shubman Gill  

Gujarat Titans  

890 Runs  



Jos Buttler 

Rajasthan Royals 

863 Runs 



Harshal Patel 

Royal Challengers Bangalore 

59 Runs 



Jofra Archer 

Rajasthan Royals 

113 Runs 



Andre Russell 

Kolkata Knight Riders 

510 Runs 



Sunil Narine 

Kolkata Knight Riders 

357 Runs 



Ben Stokes 

Rising Pune Supergiant 

316 Runs 



Virat Kohli 

Royal Challengers Bangalore 

973 Runs 



Andre Russell 

Kolkata Knight Riders 

326 Runs 



Glenn Maxwell 

Punjab Kings 

552 Runs 



Shane Watson 

Rajasthan Royals 

543 Runs 



Sunil Narine 

Kolkata Knight Riders 

24 Wickets 



Chris Gayle 

Royal Challengers Bangalore 

608 Runs 



Sachin Tendulkar 

Mumbai Indians 

618 Runs 



Adam Gilchrist 

Deccan Chargers 

495 Runs 



Shane Watson 

Rajasthan Royals 

472 Runs 


 You can also read here about the best IPL finishers.  

Top 5 Indian Players Who Got Most Man of the Match in IPL Award   

  1. AB de Villiers, has previously played for RCB and the Delhi Capitals (DC) in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He has won the most Player of the Match awards in IPL history, with 25 awards.  
  2. Chris Gayle is closely trailing his former RCB teammate De Villiers, who has 22 Player of the Match accolades in the IPL.
  3. Rohit Sharma has the most man of the match in IPL Indian player award, with 19 in total. He won these awards while playing for the now-defunct Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League. 
  4. David Warner, an Australian cricketer, has received the Player of the Match award 18 times. He previously played for Sunrisers Hyderabad and now competes for Delhi Capitals.  
  5. Most man of the match in IPL as captainMS Dhoni (Mahendra Singh Dhoni), has won 17 Player of the Match awards. Dhoni has been a crucial figure for CSK since the beginning of the IPL, contributing significantly to the team’s success.  

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)   

Q.1 What does “Man of the Match” mean in cricket?   

Man of the Match” is an award presented to the best player in a cricket match, typically for outstanding performance.   

Q.2 How is the Man of the Match selected in cricket?   

A panel of experts or the public usually selects the Man of the Match based on the player’s contribution to the game. 

Q.3 What does getting the Man of the Match award mean for a cricket player?   

Naming a player Man of the Match indicates that the player has contributed substantially to their team’s performance and has been identified as the match’s main performer. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top