Home » IPL 2024 » Most Fours in IPL Innings

Most Fours in IPL Innings

Boundaries are the lifeblood of T20 cricket, injecting adrenaline and excitement into every match. In the glitzy world of the Indian Premier League, the race for the most fours is a testament to batsmen’s prowess and timing. From elegant drives to ferocious cuts, IPL has witnessed an array of breathtaking strokes that find the fence with alarming regularity. 

From the explosive power of Andre Russell to the classical elegance of Shikhar Dhawan, these cricketers have mastered the art of finding gaps and punishing loose deliveries. Teams like CSK and KKR are known for their boundary-hitting capabilities, with players like Virat Kohli hitting many boundaries in the league. Each boundary represents a moment of exhilaration for fans and a testament to the batsman’s skill and precision. 

Moreover, “Virat Kohli, often referred to as the Baap of IPL, continues to showcase his remarkable batting prowess by topping the charts for the most fours in an innings in IPL 2024.” 

Most fours in an IPL innings by a team  

Throughout the Indian Premier League’s (IPL) history, several teams, including the kings of the league like Chennai Super Kings, Punjab Kings, and Mumbai Indians, have had outstanding batting performances, characterized by a high number of fours in an innings. Several franchises have produced some of the most memorable performances among them, with Punjab Kings’ Shikhar Dhawan leading the charge with the most number of fours in the league’s history. 

Teams have always tried to dominate with lengthy, boundary-filled innings, from the Mumbai Indians’ constant assaults to the Kolkata Knight Riders’ powerful hitting displays, and the Punjab Kings’ memorable batting performances. Get a detailed view of the teams from the table below. 

Player Opp 4s Runs Balls SR Venue Date 
AB de Villiers (RCB) MI 19 133* 59 225.42 Mumbai 10-May-15 
Paul Valthaty (KXIP) CSK 19 120* 63 190.47 Mohali 13-Apr-11 
Michael Lumb (RR) KXIP 16 83 43 193.02 Jaipur 7-Apr-10 
Ajinkya Rahane (RR) KXIP 16 98 66 148.48 Jaipur 6-Apr-12 
Devon Conway (CSK) PBKS 16 92* 52 176.92 Chennai 30-Apr-23 
Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR) MI 16 124 62 200 Mumbai 30-Apr-23 
Murali Vijay (CSK) DD 15 113 58 194.82 Chennai 25-May-12 
GJ Maxwell (KXIP) CSK 15 95 43 220.93 Abu Dhabi 18-Apr-14 
Q de Kock (DD) RCB 15 108 51 211.76 Bangalore 17-Apr-16 
SS Iyer (DD) GL 15 96 57 168.42 Kanpur 10-May-17 
Mahela Jayawardene (KXIP) KKR 14 110* 59 186.44 Kolkata 4-Apr-10 
KD Karthik (MI) DD 14 86 48 179.16 Mumbai 9-Apr-13 
Sikhar Dhawan (DC) KXIP 14 95* 57 166.66 Dharamsala 21-May-11 
V Sehwag (DD) DC 13 119 56 212.5 Hyderabad 5-May-11 
Kumar Sangakkara (KXIP) MI 13 94 56 167.85 Mohali 25-Apr-08 
Mahela Jayawardene (KXIP) DC 13 93* 62 150 Dharamsala 16-Apr-10 
V Sehwag (DD) MI 13 95* 62 166.66 Mumbai 21-Apr-13 
Suryakumar Yadav (MI) SRH 13 82 40 205 Abu Dhabi 8-Oct-21 
Moden Ali CSK 13 93 57 163.15 Brabourne 20-May-22 

Read More about-Most Ducks in IPL

Most Fours in IPL Innings History (2024-2008)   

IPL 2024 is going strong right now. The Indian Premier League is well-known for its exciting batting matches, when players may score enormously high totals in a short number of overs. We’ll talk about one of the greatest team scores in IPL history today, which spans from 2008 to 2024. 

Three times this Indian Premier League 2024 season, SRH has surpassed its record. Similarly, teams like LSG and RCB have also showcased their prowess, contributing to the high-scoring innings with remarkable batting performances. 

Rank Team Total Score Against Year Location 
1 Sunrisers Hyderabad 277/3 Royal Challengers Bengaluru 2024 Bengaluru 
2 Sunrisers Hyderabad 287/3 Mumbai Indians 2024 Hyderabad 
3 Kolkata Knight Riders 272/7 Delhi Capitals 2024 Visakhapatnam 
4 Sunrisers Hyderabad 266/7 Delhi Capitals 2024 Delhi 
5 Royal Challengers Bengaluru 263/5 Pune Warriors India 2013 Bengaluru 
6 Royal Challengers Bengaluru 262/7 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2024 Bengaluru 
7 Lucknow Super Giants 257/5 Punjab Kings 2023 Mohali 
8 Royal Challengers Bengaluru 248/5 Gujarat Lions 2016 Bengaluru 
9 Chennai Super Kings 246/5 Rajasthan Royals 2010 Chennai 
10 Mumbai Indians 246/5 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2024 Hyderabad 
11 Kolkata Knight Riders 245/5 Punjab Kings 2018 Indore 
12 Chennai Super Kings 240/5 Punjab Kings 2008 Mohali 
13 Royal Challengers Bengaluru 235/1 Mumbai Indians 2015 Mumbai 
14 Mumbai Indians 235/9 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2021 Abu Dhabi 
15 Chennai Super Kings 235/4 Kolkata Knight Riders 2023 Kolkata 
16 Mumbai Indians 234/5 Delhi Capitals 2024 Wankhede 
17 Gujarat Titans 233/3 Mumbai Indians 2023 Ahmedabad 
18 Kolkata Knight Riders 232/2 Mumbai Indians 2019 Kolkata 
19 Punjab Kings 232/2 Royal Challengers Bengaluru 2011 Dharamshala 
20 Daredevils 231/4 Punjab Kings 2011 Delhi 

Also, Check-Most Dangerous Team in IPL

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)   

1.How is the IPL 2024 “Most Fours” statistic determined?   

It is calculated by adding up all the boundaries a player struck during the competition.  

2.Who is the current IPL 2024 record holder for the most fours? 

View the most recent statistics for the player who has made the most fours. 

3.Who has the most 4s in IPL? 

Shikhar Dhawan has smacked the most number of fours in the IPL. 

4.Which team has the highest score in IPL 2024? 

Royal Challengers has the highest score in IPL 2024.  

5.Who hit the most sixes in IPL 2024? 

Sunrisers Hyderabad has the most sixes in IPL.  

6.Which is the lowest score in IPL? 

The lowest score in IPL 2024 has been Mumbai Indians. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top